WSMI AM 1540 and FM 106.1. We serve Mid-Illinois. Cardinals Day Games on 1540 AM Night Games on 106.1.
We Serve Mid-Illinois Blue Yellow We Serve Mid-Illinois Red White
Thursday  Apr 15, 2021  12:37 PM

Agriculture Headlines


Nominating Petitions Available for Illinois Commodity Boards

Wed, 07 Apr 2021 14:47:41 CDT
SPRINGFIELD, IL Farmers who would like to run for a three-year-term on the Illinois Corn Marketing Board (ICMB), the Illinois Soybean Program Operating Board (ISPOB), or the Illinois Sheep and Wool Marketing Board (ISWMB) can now start circulating nomination petitions.

Petitions are available through the commodity organizations and at the Illinois Department of Agriculture in Springfield. The deadline to complete and return these petitions is May 15th for the Corn Marketing Board and Soybean Program Operating Board candidates and May 31st for the Sheep and Wool Marketing Board candidates.

To be eligible, each candidate must be at least 18 years old, have produced and marketed the pertinent commodity during 2020, reside in the district to be represented, and have submitted a valid petition by the filing deadline.

Elections for all three boards will be held on July 6, 2021. For more information, call the Illinois Department of Agriculture at (217) 524-1083 or visit our website at

A list of counties holding commodity elections are as follows:


District 2 Carroll, Jo Daviess, Ogle, Stephenson, Winnebago
District 5 Grundy, Kankakee, LaSalle, Livingston
District 8 Cass, Fulton, Logan, Mason, Menard, Peoria, Tazewell
District 11 Christian, Effingham, Fayette, Montgomery, Shelby
District 14 Bond, Clinton, Madison, Monroe, St. Clair, Washington


District 2 Cook, Du Page, Kane, Kankakee, Lake, McHenry, Will
District 10 Christian, DeWitt, Macon, Moultrie, Shelby
District 11 Champaign, Coles, Douglas, Edgar, Piatt
District 14 Clark, Cumberland, Crawford, Effingham, Jasper
District 16 Clay, Edwards, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash, Wayne, White
District 17 Jackson, Jefferson, Perry, Randolph, Washington


District 2 Champaign, Clark, Coles, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Grundy,
                 Iroquois, Kankakee, Kendall, Livingston, Piatt, Vermilion, Will
District 5 Adams, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Greene, Jersey, Macoupin, Morgan, Pike,
                 Schuyler, Scott


WebReadyTM Powered by WireReadyNSI

© 2006-2020 Talley Broadcasting Corporation, WSMI Radio All Rights Reserved  |     |  2020 EEO Report
  |  WSMI-FM Public Inspection File
  |  WSMI AM Public Inspection FIle
WebReady powered by WireReady® NSI