WSMI AM 1540 and FM 106.1. We serve Mid-Illinois. Cardinals Day Games on 1540 AM Night Games on 106.1.
We Serve Mid-Illinois Blue Yellow We Serve Mid-Illinois Red White
Tuesday  Aug 20, 2019  10:55 AM

Local News


Litchfield 'Voice of Democracy' Semifinalists Announced

Tue, 20 Nov 2018 13:12:54 CST


The names of ten semifinalists in the seventy-first annual Voice of Democracy Scholarship competition have been announced.

Damon Burdell, Kolby Carr, John Corso, Drake Facchinello, Jordan Minkevich, Michelle Saathoff, Bethany Seely, Jaya Terrell, Corey Voyles and Clayton Walch are students at Litchfield High School who have been selected as semifinalists for this year's competition.

The competition is a national audio and essay contest that is sponsored by the Veterans of Foreign Wars and Auxiliary. The title of this year's theme was “Why My Vote Matters.” The top ten essays were selected from a pool of over sixty entered by Litchfield High School. The contestants have recorded their essays, and a group of judges will select three finalists. All students freshmen through seniors at Litchfield High School were eligible to participate.

Locally, the first place winner will receive $500 and a gold Voice of Democracy medal. His or her audio recording will also advance to judging for the twelfth district. Second place will receive $200 and a silver medal, and third place will receive $100 and a bronze medal.

All semifinalists will receive a certificate of merit and an invitation to an awards banquet that will be held Saturday, December 1, at the Litchfield VFW Hall.


WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady®NSI

© 2006-2018 Talley Broadcasting Corporation, WSMI Radio All Rights Reserved  |     |  2018 EEO Report
  |  WSMI-FM Public Inspection File
  |  WSMI AM Public Inspection FIle
WebReady powered by WireReady® NSI