WSMI AM 1540 and FM 106.1. We serve Mid-Illinois. Cardinals Day Games on 1540 AM Night Games on 106.1.
We Serve Mid-Illinois Blue Yellow We Serve Mid-Illinois Red White
Saturday  Feb 29, 2020  03:11 AM

Local News


Litchfield Council Approves Promissory Note for New Subdivision

Sat, 17 Aug 2019 07:12:43 CDT

A spirited discussion broke out between members of the Litchfield City Council on Thursday about the development of a new subdivision at Lake Lou Yaeger.

The council approved an ordinance by a 5-4 vote to authorize the issuance of a Promissory Note of $1,996,000. The purpose of the note is to defray the cost of infrastructure and capital improvements in the Eagle Ridge Subdivision.

Alderman Dwayne Gerl was the first to speak about the note, saying some citizens do not understand why so much money is being put towards a new subdivision at the lake when there are improvements to be made to infrastructure within the City. Alderwoman Marilyn Sisson also questioned the decision, pointing to the number of properties that are deteriorating. Mayor Steve Dougherty said the City is addressing some of the issues, and the revenue that could be obtained by leasing the properties in the new subdivision would help pay for other city improvements.

Alderman Mark Brown said he was not in favor of a promissory note for the subdivision, and said he believes improvements to a water line that runs beneath the lake should be the council's top priority. He said when tourists visit Litchfield, the lake is the number one attraction. Dougherty agreed that the water line needs repaired, but said getting a loan to repair it would not be feasible because there would be no revenue coming in to pay it back. City Administrator Tonya Flannery said the subdivision is meant to be a self-supporting project.

Alderman Woodrow Street noted that this particular project began two years ago, and asked why some of the questions on Thursday were just now being asked. “Shame on us,” he said for asking such questions two years into a project.

Mayor Dougherty was the deciding vote with council members Street, Tim Wright, Kassidy Paine and Dave Hollo each voting in favor of the motion. Brown, Gerl, Sisson and Ray Kellenberger each voted no.

The next Litchfield City Council meeting is scheduled for Thursday, Sep. 5, at 6:30 p.m.


WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady®NSI

© 2006-2020 Talley Broadcasting Corporation, WSMI Radio All Rights Reserved  |     |  2019 EEO Report
  |  WSMI-FM Public Inspection File
  |  WSMI AM Public Inspection FIle
WebReady powered by WireReady® NSI