WSMI AM 1540 and FM 106.1. We serve Mid-Illinois. Cardinals Day Games on 1540 AM Night Games on 106.1.
We Serve Mid-Illinois Blue Yellow We Serve Mid-Illinois Red White
Thursday  Apr 15, 2021  12:04 PM

Local News


Montgomery County Election Results In, Wait Continues in Witt

Wed, 07 Apr 2021 12:33:22 CDT
Some nail biters in last night’s election.   Incumbent Litchfield Mayor Steve Dougherty won the Mayor’s race by 14 votes over Alderman Dwayne Gerl.    
It will take 14 days to make the results official. There are only ten outstanding ballots countywide, 4 of them in Litchfield. Speaking of close outcomes, it gets no closer than the Witt’s Mayor’s race, where we won’t know for a while who the next Mayor will be as Shawn Cady and Timothy Taylor each racked up 75 votes, incumbent James VanOstran finished third. Barring a recount, Taylor and Cady will face off in a lottery to determine the winner. No outstanding ballots are in play in Witt. In other Witt races, Nancy Hughes won City Clerk. Lyn Cady took one Ward One race while Catherine Cady won the other seat. In a contested Ward Three race, Jay Martin grabbed a victory. In Nokomis, Mayor Michael Holiday was the winner in the Mayor’s race. In Sorento, Anthony Rapien won a three way race for Village President. Pamella Short came out on top in the race for Donnelson Village President. Kenneth Buckingham, Marjorie Tate and Tyler Tarran won the three trustee slots. Harry Jackson won the Taylor Springs Mayor’s race. Ronald Seaton won the Waggoner Mayor’s Race by two votes. In the lone contested school board race countywide in Hillsboro, Nathan Kirby and John Lentz edged Kyle Putnam. Meanwhile, Nokomis Township voters approved a revenue stream for cash strapped Nokomis Cemetery.


WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady®NSI

© 2006-2020 Talley Broadcasting Corporation, WSMI Radio All Rights Reserved  |     |  2020 EEO Report
  |  WSMI-FM Public Inspection File
  |  WSMI AM Public Inspection FIle
WebReady powered by WireReady® NSI