The new year brings new laws, and the Illinois State Police has announced a few that become effective on January 1.
In an effort to protect first responders, Scott's Law, known as the "Move Over" law, requires motorists to slow down or change lanes when approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with emergency lights activated. Beginning in 2017, this law will also apply to any vehicle on the side of the road with hazard lights activated. If you see flashing lights ahead, you must move over or slow down.
Laws have also been changed for work and school zones. Speeding 26 miles per hour or more, but less than 35 mph, is now a Class B misdemeanor; and 35 miles per hour or more in excess of the posted work or school zone limit is now a Class A misdemeanor.
Motorists who have been convicted of driving without insurance and still choose to drive without insurance could have their vehicle impounded the next time they are stopped by the police. The law now requires officers to tow the vehicle if a person has been convicted of driving without insurance twice within a 12-month period.
For a complete list of all the new public acts, visit the Illinois General Assembly website.